Corporate Governance

In this section you will find details of directors who served during the year, the terms of reference, and the company's Articles of Association.

Terms of reference

The board has delegated certain aspects of the group's affairs to standing committees, each of which operates within defined terms of reference.

Articles of association

Here you can read the Articles of Association.

Approach to taxation

Here you can read the group’s approach to taxation.

Board of Directors

Executive Directors

A Rashbass ‡
  • Chief executive officer
  • Appointed to the board: 2015

Andrew Rashbass is Chief Executive of Euromoney Institutional Investor PLC. He joined the company in October 2015. He has broad international experience and proven ability to manage top-quality editorial products while also growing digital revenues. Between 2013 and 2015 he was the chief executive of Reuters, the news division of Thomson Reuters, the global business information group. Before joining Reuters, he spent 15 years at The Economist Group, where for the last five years he was chief executive and successfully led its transformation from a traditional print to leading digital business. Before that he was publisher of The Economist.  


CR Jones
  • Finance director
  • Appointed to the board: 1996

Colin Jones is a chartered accountant. He joined the company in July 1996 from Price Waterhouse, and was appointed finance director in November 1996.


Non-executive Directors

The Viscount Rothermere ‡
  • Non-executive director
  • Appointed to the board: 1998

The Viscount is chairman of Daily Mail and General Trust plc and he brings significant experience of media. He worked at the International Herald Tribune in Paris and the Mirror Group before moving to Northcliffe Newspapers in 1995. In 1997 he became managing director of the Evening Standard.

Sir Patrick Sergeant ‡
  • Non-executive director and president
  • Appointed to the board: 1969

Sir Patrick founded the company in 1969 and was managing director until 1985 when he became chairman. He retired as chairman in September 1992 when he was appointed as president and a non-executive director.

JC Botts †‡§
  • Non-executive director and chairman
  • Chairman of the remuneration and nomination committee
  • Appointed to the board: 1992

John Botts is senior adviser of Allen & Company in London and a director of several private companies. He was formerly non-executive chairman of United Business Media plc.

P Zwillenberg †‡
  • Non-executive director
  • Appointed to the board: 2016

Paul Zwillenberg is chief executive of Daily Mail and General Trust plc. Paul has over 25 years’ experience as an operator and advisor across the media, technology and telco sectors. He has a breadth of experience across the B2B and media sectors of DMGT's portfolio and a broad knowledge of the Group, having set up the digital division of dmg media (formerly Associated Newspapers digital) in 1996. Prior to joining DMGT, Paul was the Global Leader Media Sector at The Boston Consulting Group and before that founded an early interactive media company and launched a European technology services firm.

DP Pritchard §†
  • Senior independent director and chairman of the audit committee
  • Appointed to the board: 2008

David Pritchard is a director of The Motability Tenth Anniversary Trust. David has over 30 years of experience in the banking industry. He was formerly chairman of AIB Group (UK) plc, deputy chairman of Lloyds TSB Group, chairman of Cheltenham & Gloucester plc and a director of Scottish Widows Group and LCH.Clearnet Group.

ART Ballingal
  • Independent non-executive director
  • Appointed to the board: 2012

Andrew Ballingal is chief executive of Ballingal Investment Advisors, an independent investment firm based in Hong Kong. He has over 20 years of experience as an advisor, investor, and partner in hedge funds, much of it in Asia. He has been a member of the Euromoney Institutional Investor PLC Asia Pacific Advisory Board since 2008.


TP Hillgarth §
  • Independent non-executive director
  • Appointed to the board: 2012

Tristan Hillgarth has over 30 years experience in asset management and has held senior positions at Framlington, Invesco and Jupiter. He is a non-executive director of JPMorgan Overseas Investment Trust PLC.


† Member of the remuneration committee

‡ Member of the nominations committee

§ Member of the audit committee


We use cookies. If you’re happy with cookies, continue browsing.